Nobel Prize in Physics 2019!

James Peebles (L), Didier Queloz (M) and Michel Mayor (R)
(source: BBC News)

Like every year, the winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics were announced for their contributions to science. The benchmark for 2019 was the broader field of Astrophysics, as Nobel shared with three scientists for their contributions to Astronomy and Cosmology.

The Nobel laureates for 2019 are James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz. Specifically, James Peebles was honored for his overall contribution to the field of Cosmology, while Didier Queloz and Michel Mayor for the discovery of the exoplanet "51 Pegasi b".

According to the official announcement, the Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded:
"For contributions to our understanding of the evolution of the universe and Earth's place in the cosmos" with one half to James Peebles "for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology", the other half jointly to Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz "for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star."

When Professor Peebles was asked what he considers his most important breakthrough that led to the Nobel Prize, he answered “It’s a life’s work!”

Video of the announcement of the Nobel Prize in Physics 2019

Source: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2019