COSPAR 2022 – 44th Sc. Assembly in Athens – 16-24 July 2022, Session E1.7: Properties and Evolution of AGN in Galaxy Clusters

The mission of the COSPAR Athens 2022 is to deliver a COSPAR Scientific Assembly that reflects, serves and prolongs COSPAR’s prominence, leading role and legacy. COSPAR Athens 2022 provides every means necessary to support COSPAR’s mission to ‘assemble a worldwide community of scientists who are dedicated to international cooperation in space research’.

One of the COSPAR sessions related to high energy Astropysics is E1.7: Properties and Evolution of Active Galactic Nuclei in Galaxy Clusters!

Since the discovery that all massive galaxies in the local Universe host a central super massive black hole (SMBH) with a mass proportional to that of the galaxy spheroid, the study of SMBHs and Active galactic Nuclei (AGNs) remains a lively topic in modern astrophysics. There is compelling evidence that the presence of AGNs is closely linked to the small- and large-scale environments. Galaxy clusters, being the most massive self-gravitating entities in the Universe, are ideal laboratories to investigate the impact of the environment on AGN demographics. The AGN fraction in clusters was found to depend on the distance from the cluster centre, the mass of the cluster and the redshift. During this event we will focus on recent developments in the field, emerging from space observatories and ground-based facilities.

The main Scientific Organizer of this session is Elias Koulouridis (National Observatory of Athens) and the deputy organizer is Paola Marziani (Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica)

The members of the Scientific Organizing Committee are:
Paul Martini (The Ohio State University, USA), Mirjana Povic (Ethiopian Space Science and Technology Institute, Ethiopia), Deborah Dultzin (Universidad Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico), Cristian Vignali (Bologna University, Italy), Antonis Georgakakis (National Observatory of Athens, Greece)

The confirmed Solicited Speakers contributing in this session are:
Alexis Finoguenov (University of Helsinki, Finland), Mauro D’Onofrio (University of Padova, Italy), Omaira González-Martín (National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico), Massimo Gaspari (Astrophysics and Space Science Observatory of Bologna, Italy), Johan Comparat (Max Planck Institute for extraterrestrial physics, Garching, Germany), Paolo Tozzi (Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory, Florence, Italy), Becky Canning (University of Portsmouth, UK), Tesla Jeltema (University of California, USA)

For more information about COSPAR2022, please visit:

The deadline for the abstract submissions is 11th February 2022!