COSPAR 2022 – 44th Sc. Assembly in Athens – 16-24 July 2022, Session E1.11: Supermassive Black Holes at High Redshift

The mission of the COSPAR Athens 2022 is to deliver a COSPAR Scientific Assembly that reflects, serves and prolongs COSPAR’s prominence, leading role and legacy. COSPAR Athens 2022 provides every means necessary to support COSPAR’s mission to ‘assemble a worldwide community of scientists who are dedicated to international cooperation in space research’.

One of the COSPAR sessions is E1.11 dedicated to Supermassive Black Holes at High Redshift!

Optical and near-IR surveys, because of their large area, are exploring very efficiently supermassive black holes (SMBH) at high redshifts, z>5, and follow-up mm-observations, e.g. with ALMA, are offering an unprecedented view of the physical properties of their host galaxies. Optically selected AGN, however, may only form the tip of the iceberg as they are prone to obscuration. Many theoretical studies predict that the vast majority of these high redshift AGN are in fact heavily obscured. X-ray surveys represent the perfect tool to peer through obscuration and discover these hidden SMBH, but, owing to their limited area, have probed only a couple of tens AGN above redshifts of z=5. The situation is rapidly changing with the serendipitous XMM and Chandra catalogues and certainly with the eROSITA all-sky survey.

In this meeting we will bring together the results coming from current optical and X-ray surveys, and from observations with state-of-the art mm and radio interferometers, trying to define solid paths for the future JWST, ATHENA, Lynx and AXIS surveys.

The main Scientific Organizer of this session is Andrea Comastri (INAF – Osservatorio di Astrofisica e Scienza dello Spazio di Bologna) and the deputy organizer is Ioannis Georgantopoulos (National Observatory of Athens).

The members of the Scientific Organizing Committee are:
James Aird (University of Edinburgh, UK) Eduardo Banados (MPIA, Germany) Rychard Bouwens (Leiden University, NL) Tiziana Di Matteo (Carnegie Mellon University, USA) Simona Gallerani (SNS, Italy) Roberto Gilli (INAF-OAS, Italy) Yoshiki Matsuoka (Ehime University, Japan) Priyamvada Natarajan (Yale University, USA) Ran Wang (KIAA Peking University, China)

The confirmed Solicited Speakers contributing in this session are:
Manda Banerji (School of Physics & Astronomy University of Southampton, UK) Tiago Costa (Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics Garching, Germany), Roberto Decarli (Astrophysics and Space Science Observatory of Bologna, Italy), Melanie Habouzit (Max Planck Institute for Astronomy Heidelberg, Germany), Roberto Maiolino (University of Cambridge, UK), Yoshiki Matsuoka (Ehime University Matsuyama, Japan), Daniel Mortlock (Imperial College London, UK), Kirpal Nandra (Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics Garching, Germany), Huub Rottgering (Leiden University, The Netherlands), Mara Salvato (Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics Garching, Germany), Raffaella Schneider (Università di Roma La Sapienza, Italy), Fabio Vito (Scuola Normale Superiore Pisa, Italy)

For more information about COSPAR2022, please visit:

The deadline for the abstract submissions is 7th February 2022!